2017 National Merit Semifinalists and National Hispanic Scholars Announced at Temple High School

Temple High School is pleased to announce three 2017 National Merit Semifinalists and three 2017 National Hispanic Recognition Scholars.

Megan Babowicz, Dylan Prather and Andrew Tye have been named a National Merit

Semifinalist and will go on through the process for selection as a National Merit Scholar.

Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants from a pool of 1.6 million students across the country taking the PSAT during their high school junior year.

16,000 students, one percent of those entered, are selected as semifinalists nationally.

These students will continue to compete for Merit Scholarship Awards.

The semifinalists must complete other requirements to continue the process toward recognition as a National Merit Scholar.

The students will be notified of their finalist status in mid-February and scholar status in April, 2017.

The Temple High School students recognized as 2017 National Hispanic Recognition

Scholars are Alyssa Elliott, Jason Garza and Hannah Wilson.

The College Board recognizes students identified as outstanding Hispanic Recognized Scholars based on PSAT/NMSQT scores and grade point averages.

Students’ names are sent to subscribing colleges and universities; these institutions actively recruit students and may offer financial support based on The College Board’s recognition